News & Events


Cheerfully Celebrated 102nd International Day of Cooperatives in Nepal

Kathmandu, July 06, 2024

National Cooperative Federation of Nepal (NCF), an apex level organization of cooperatives in Nepal celebrated 102nd International Day of Cooperatives (IDC), 30th United Nations International Day of Cooperatives, and 31th National Cooperative Federation Day on July 06, 2024 in Lalitpur. Based on the theme ‘Cooperatives Build a Better Future for All’ unveiled by International Cooperative Alliance (ICA) for this year, the special occasion was observed by High level government Officials, Development Partners, Cooperators, representatives, large stakeholder and media personals. This year cooperators around the world are shouting out the message that cooperatives contribute to build a sustainable future, accelerating efforts to implement the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) by 2030. The theme aligns well with the objectives of the upcoming UN Summit of the Future whose theme is “multilateral solutions for a better tomorrow”.

From the capacity of Chief Guest, Honorable Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Mr. Narayan Kaji Shrestha, inaugurated the Program by lightening the lamp. During his speech, the Honorable Deputy Prime Minister Shrestha stressed on the cooperatives model which is the best model to establish socialist oriented economy in the country. Only the active cooperative movement could vibrant the economic model of the country. Therefore, the government must be committed to allocate budget for the promotion of cooperatives to strengthen the third pillar.

As a chair of the program NCF Chairperson, Constitutional Assembly Member and former Global Board Member of International Cooperative Alliance Ms. Om Devi Malla gratitude all the important delegates and participants and expressed her key words on historical significant of the International Day of Cooperatives. She further expressed the various countries' scenario of celebrating International Day of Cooperatives. During such hard times for cooperatives in Nepal, such forum needs to find out the right approach to mitigate these problems. In such states only the cooperatives are able to build a better future for all.

The special program was observed and put forward their opinions by various dignitaries and guests. Various political parties department chief including Secretary for Ministry of land Management, Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation Mr. Gokarna Mani Duwadee, UNDP Resident Representatives Ms. Ayshanie Medagangoda-Labe as well as NCF advisors put forward their valuable remarks and congratulates for celebrating this important day in Nepal.

The core aspect of the program was to distribute award to the successful cooperators, cooperatives and cooperative journalist. NCF distributed National Cooperative Award to Mr. Keshav Prasad Badal, Former Minister and Former Chairman of NCF. Mr. Badal expressed his thank you message and expressed on the incident of drafting cooperatives acts in different era.

Accordingly, NCF distributes Excellent Cooperative Award to successful District Level Cooperative Union and Excellent Cooperative Business Award to Primary Cooperatives from all seven Provinces along with Excellent Cooperative Journalist Award of the year. The awards were jointly handed over by the Honorable Chief Guest, Chair and other guest. The video clips of all awardees were presented in the program incorporating their contribution, best effort and good practices to become the best. NCF senior Vice Chair Mr. Ramesh Prasad Pokhrel expressed vote of thanks while board member Mr. Suman Nepal facilitate the session. Ms. Chitra Kumari Thamsuhang Subba along with NCF management teams actively participate in the program.

The award was distributed as undermentioned:

1. National Cooperative Award 2024

Mr. Keshav Prasad Badal, Former Minister and Former Chairman of NCF

2. Excellent Cooperative Award 2024

District Savings and Credit Cooperative Union, Morang

3. Excellent Cooperative Employee Award 2024

Mr. Keshav Prasad Dahal, CEO, Bagmati Province Savings and Credit Cooperative Union Ltd.

4. Excellent Cooperative Journalist Award 2024

a) Mr. Kaji Shrestha, Editor, Sahakari

b) Ms. Sudha Devkota, Reporter, Mero

5. Excellence Cooperative Business Award 2024

a) Koshi Province:

Nepal Multipurpose Cooperative Society Ltd., Jhapa

b) Madesh Province:

Small Farmers Agriculture Cooperative Ltd., Sarlahi

c) Bagmati Province:

Yuba Savings and Credit Cooperative Society Ltd., Bhaktapur

d) Gandaki Province:

Navaprativa Savings and Credit Cooperative Society Ltd, Nawalparasi

e) Lumbini Province:

Hamro Pahuch Multipurpose Cooperative Society Ltd, Dang

f) Karnali Province:

Gramin Savings and Credit Cooperative Society Ltd, Salyan

g) Sudurpaschim Province:

Kishan Multipurpose Cooperative Society Ltd, Kailali

share this post: